SN College

The College History 
Sree Narayana College, Punalur is a centre of higher education in the eastern alcove of Kollam district in Kerala. The institution was established in devout memory of Sree Narayana Guru, a saint, poet, philosopher and one of the greatest social reformers Kerala has ever produced. The College is managed by the Sree Narayana Trusts, Kollam, one of the leading educational agencies in the state. It is affiliated to the University of Kerala, and has 12 B recognition from the UGC and ‘B’ Grade accreditation from the NAAC.
The college was officially inaugurated on 15th July by Shri. R. Sankar, the then Chief Minister of Kerala. The first Principal of the college was the noted social scientist Dr. P. Vijayaraghavan. Nestling in a verdant hillock of twenty-five acres, the college comes alive with the sound of hundreds of young men and women ascending their temple of learning and enlightment. Ever since its inception in 1965, Sree Narayana College, Punalur has catered to the educational and intellectual needs of the youth, uplifting the society in the eastern niche of Kollam district.
The college offers degree courses in Chemistry, Physics, Zoology, Mathematics, Commerce and History. A vocational course in B.A. Communicative English was introduced in 1998-99. At the Post-Graduate level, the college offers M.Sc. in Chemistry and Mathematics.
The college also conducts a myriad of short-term programmes and courses for the all-round development of the student’s personality. Various clubs and study centres function to encourage and nurture the aesthetic and literary talents of its members. A multi-gymnasium has been set up in the college for the development of physical prowess and sporting talents.
Conscious of its inceptual obligation, it takes education to the doorsteps of the poor and marginalized sections of the society and endeavours to mould a humane, intellectually progressive, morally awakened and socially committed group of young men and women.

Contact Details

Sree Narayana College
Punalur, Kollam,
Kerala – 691305.
Phone : 0475 2222635, 3258895
Fax : 0475-2222635
E-mail :
Website :

Succession List of Managers
  Sri. R.Sankar Founder Manager
1. Sri. P.S. Karhikeyan 1964-65
2. Sri. R. Sankar 1965-72
3. Sri. P.S. Karthikeyan 1972-83
4. Sri. K.T. Achuthan 1983
5. Sri. N. Chandrabhanu 1983
6. Dr. P.K. Gopalakrishnan 1983-84
7. Sri. M.K. Raghavan 1984-91
8. The Recievers Appointed by the Hon'ble High Court of Kerala 1991-96
9. Sri. Vellappally Natesan 1996- till date
Former Principals
1. Dr. P. Vijayaraghavan 1965-67
2. Prof. V.K. Diwakaran 1967-68
3. Prof. V. Jaganadha Panicker 1968-71
4. Prof. V. Bhaskaran 1971-73
5. Prof. K.P. Sadasivan 1973-76
6. Prof. R. Sukumary 1976-80
7. Prof. P.Chandrasenan 1980-83
8. Prof. N. Sumam 1983-92
9. Prof. G. Sathyaseelan 1992-96
Prof. N.A. Das Apl 1999 - Aug1999
Prof. M.S. Prasanna 1996-97
Prof. K. Sasikumar June 1997-Nov.1997
Prof. N. A. Das 1997-99
Prof. K. Gopalakrishnan April 1999-Aug.99
Prof. S. Komalavally 1999-2004
Dr. P. G. Pradeep Kumar 2004-2005
Dr. M. Devakumar Oct.2005 - May2008
Dr. M. Viswanathan May 2008 - June 2008
Dr. V. K. Gopi Jan. 2009 - May 2009
Dr. P.C. salim May 2009 - May 2010
Prof. V. S. Lee May 2010 - May 2011
Dr. M. Devakumar June 2011April - 2013
Dr. B. Suresh Kumar May 2013 - till date

Post a Comment


Author Name


Contact Form


Email *

Message *

Powered by Blogger.